Home > Electronics > Repairing LG 32LC46 television

Repairing LG 32LC46 television

My friend was moving to a new apartment and gave me broken LG 32LC46 flat panel television, which was only been in use for a little over a year before going dead. I googled that model and discovered that most probable problem is the poorly designed power supply in the television, so I decided to try repairing it.

Television with the back panel removed. PSU board is the white one on the left

When inspecting the PSU board, three capacitors could easily be seen broken from their swollen caps and leaking electrolyte.

Closeup from the PSU board. Faulty capacitors are circled

All the faulty capacitors were of value 2200 µF / 10v. I replaced those with 2200 µF / 16v low ESR-models which I had on hand. After this, the tv started working without problems. Of course this does not solve the original overheating problem, so I probably need to do this again sometime, but with the annual upkeep, 6 € for capacitors is not that bad for otherwise free tv.

 

Categories: Electronics Tags: ,
  1. Anonymous
    12/04/2012 at 23:41

    I had exactly the same fault but all four 2200 uF capacitors were showing signs of leaking. Replaced all four at the cost of £5 and it now works again. Thank you.

  2. Ken
    02/10/2012 at 17:59

    Brilliant! I’m glad I found your blog here Antibore. I got given a dead LG 32LC46 to have a go at fixing it. I don’t have a lot of electronics knowledge, being a mechanical engineer, but I can work a soldering iron!! On getting the back off the TV, I recognised the FOUR (like Anonymous above) 2200uF caps had raised heads, like they had ‘popped’. I managed to get 4 replacements (16V) from a local friendly TV repair shop at a cost of £4. Swapped the blown caps, being careful of the polarity and the neatness of re-soldering onto the board. Re-built the TV and hey-presto IT WORKED! Like you said, I don’t know how long this repair will last if the basic design of the power supply is crap, but £4 to get a working LG LCD TV for the bedroom can’t be bad!
    Thanks again…..if you hadn’t blogged the above, I would never have found this fault…..for me, ‘driving’ my digital multimeter for anything but continuity and voltage checking confuses me totally…but ask me to re-build a car automatic gearbox n I’m in my element!

    • 06/10/2012 at 11:31

      Thank you for the comment! Nice to know it worked well for you also =)

  3. Jay
    03/03/2013 at 05:10

    I had the same problem and I changed all four capacitors. But still my tv doesnt turn on. I can put it ON but the only thing I see then is the green light that after a while turns to red. What more could be wrong?

    • 04/03/2013 at 13:23

      Sorry to hear that. Something else is probably broken in the PSU, but I’m not that familiar with it that I could guess what.

  4. Mielie
    08/09/2013 at 13:45

    Perfect fix. Took me 10 minutes, and worked perfectly! TV would’ve ended up in the dumpster if it weren’t for your blog! Thank you!

    • 09/09/2013 at 14:09

      Thank you, always nice to hear that somebody reads these =)

  5. prasad
    11/10/2013 at 08:19

    I have Four Years Old LG 32″ LCD TV,Till the date that was worked very smoothly. Today one line appeared in the screen. I called the LG Techanitian after his checking he said the panel board of the TV is complaint. Only solution is relplace the panel board and no repair is possible. The coast of the panel board is nearabout 15000.00. Please advice if any body is it possible to repair the panel board and actual cost of panel board

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

